Sharing is Caring, Right?

Why is is that some share more with their friends than they do with their significant other? What would happen if people shared as much with their partners as they did with their good-goods? This is a bit of a spinoff of last week’s “You Can’t Handle the Truth” post. Truthfully (see what I did there?) this was something that inspired last week’s post; consider this a part two.Okay, so back to the point at hand. I’m not by any means saying that not sharing things with a significant other is true 100% of the time. I know for a fact that least one of my readers shares everything with their spouse. I admire it. Honestly. I mean, after all, isn’t that what they are there for? To be there for you in times of need, to be an ear when you need someone to listen or a shoulder you need to cry on, amongst other things. 

The last week or so haven’t been my best. My spirits were down, I wanted to be left alone but wanted company all at the same time; I was just blah. When I finally felt like opening up, I did so to one of my friends or sister then Boo. Why as that? While I do share more about things that happen outside of our relationship, there are few things I’d turn to friends with instead of him. I think it’s a mixture of being afraid he can’t “handle” the truth or I don’t want to insult, offend, or hurt his feelings. Other times it’s because I feel like my good-goods can relate more to my situation than he can.

I sometimes find that my guy is two sided. I would agree that he shares things, but only those directly related to our relationship. On the flip side, I must admit, he’s very much a listener. He’s strategic and lets things sink in before responding and while I share similar traits, sometimes I wanna talk things out. It is during those times, where I want more than just “mhm” and “okay” as responses, that I turn to others to respond and develop thoughts with. 

Am I the only one? Please tell me I’m not. Who do you turn to when you just need someone to listen (and even respond)? Does it depend on the situation? Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to continue the conversation.

 

 

Share Your Thoughts

