Worth the Read?

One of my resolutions for 2016 was to read more. I started out doing pretty good but, as is common with resolutions, I lost steam. The year seemed to fly by and when I looked up, it was November and I hadn’t read as much as I wanted to. This year, I’m determined to read at least a dozen books!

The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson

I was interested in this book because the main characters were from Brooklyn, NY and I really like books that I can relate to. Who doesn’t, right? Two sisters are sent to Barbados to live with their grandmother after their mother falls ill and can no longer care for them. The books follows how the girls, who are very different, adapt to their new life and try to make the best out of the situation at hand.

I must admit that I was a little disappointed by this book because I thought it would have more of a climax or more drama or something. To be honest, as I sit writing this, I can’t even recall how it ended. Would I recommend this book? Yes, but with reservations. It is a very easy read and brings up an important issue that many people are dealing with but do not address: mental health. I say, if you a few days or want something quick and easy to read, go for it. Overall, 3 ½ out of 5 stars.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This book, I would recommend fully! It’s a pretty big book, 500+ pages, but they are all worth it. The main character, Marie Laure, who is blind, and her father flee Paris during WWII due to the Nazi invasion. Marie Laure’s father worked at the museum for years and was given the responsibility of securing a very precious gem. On the flip side, a young German soldier, Werner, who was an orphan before being summoned to fight in the war is sharing his story. The path of these two meet and you’ll just have to read for yourself how. I’m too afraid to go into anymore detail because I don’t want to give it away.

I also appreciate that the chapters were very short, which made it easy to continue reading and get completely lost in the book. One thing I should warn you is that each chapter flips back and forth between the two main character, so be aware of that before jumping in. However, definitely worth the read.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicole Yoon

I picked up this book with only a few days left in the year. I was feeling a bit ambitious with this one because I liked the idea of finishing 3 books by the end of the year. This book also takes place over the course of one day so I felt even more compelled to finish it in one day. Complete irrational thinking, but I did it! Beat that!

This book is another in that takes place in NYC. The main character, Natasha, is exhausting all of her options because she is to be deported back to Jamaica by 10pm that day. The story starts at around 9 or 10AM and it’s a whirlwind from there. Along her day, she meets a Korean-American boy named Daniel in the music store. Daniel is also having a day that may or may not change his life. Natasha is very into science and is rational and Daniel believes in love and luck and things of that nature. The two spend the day together and, well, you’ll have to read it to find out what happens. Another easy read and another story that jumps back and forth between two POVs. While this book felt fast paced, it was easy to read and follow along with and was quite interesting. Definitely an “awww” book.


So far this year, I’ve read Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff, The Girls by Emma Cline, and Liars’ Club by Mary Karr. What is on your 2017 TBR (to be read)? What are some books you’d recommend?

Share Your Thoughts

