Put Your Energy to Good Use

With so many responsibilities, it can be hard to find the energy or motivation to get anything done. But this isn’t always the case.

I often go through phases of time where I am the most lethargic person on the face of this planet. In theory, I can always set myself up to be productive (get a good night’s rest, eat breakfast, be prepared, set the mood, have snacks, etc.), sometimes I still have to literally force myself to do even the most simple tasks. Those days are tough and most times boring but I get through them. Then there are days where I wake up feeling super energized and ready to conquer the day, but I have “nothing” to do.

Being that I work a 9 to 5 in a corporate office, it can be very frustrating to have so much energy and not much to do. On top of that, being that I am in a junior position, there are ebbs and flows in my work load and sometime I have very little work to do. If you find yourself in a similar situation, I’ve come up with some ways you can direct that energy towards something good. They may not all work for you but I hope at least one of them does.

Tackle that to-do list. This is the most boring solution of them all, yes, but I know you have somethings that you’ve been putting on the back burner. Now is the time to get them done. For me this can range from something super boring like scheduling annual check-up appointments or managing my finances, to something more exciting like making that guest list for your summer backyard bash you’ve wanted to plan or a list of clothes your wardrobe so desperately needs. Either way, there’s always something that can be done and often times they can be done or at least prepared right from your work desk.

Work out. Okay, so you’ll have to step out of the workplace to do this but there’s always the weekends, right? Finding a good workout that is fun and effective is a great way to use some of that bottled up energy. To the contrary, I find that working out energizes me so if you’re worried about being tired after a workout, I suggest you give it a try and see how those happy hormones affect you.

Do some crafts. The word creative is often thrown around like confetti but when you’re at liberty to choose what you want to do, it doesn’t feel so bad. Search some easy crafts that are both fun and functional and focus your energy on that. I promise you won’t have any problem at all keeping busy for a few hours and in the end you’ll have something beautiful (or at least interesting) to show for it.

Meditate. This might sound like the absolute opposite of what you’d want to do when you’re feeling very energetic but sitting in one spot for some time can be super relaxing. It’ll force you to slow your thoughts down and bring you to a calm, cool state. It can also help you realize what things need to be done so you can gather your thoughts and hit the ground running.

You have the potential to be super productive when you’re feeling energetic and I don’t want you to waste that time. For me if doesn’t come very often but when it does, I like to maximize it. The plus side is that being productive is motivation to be more productive. It’s almost the same feeling of accomplishment you get when you get to check things off a list–it encourages you to want to do more. However, if none of these tips work for you and being productive just isn’t your thing, cuddle with your special someone. I’m sure you two can find something to do with all that energy.

Stay tuned for more, specifically how to motivate yourself when you feel like doing absolutely nothing.

Share Your Thoughts

